Ragusa Modica and Noto tour

Ragusa Modica and Noto tour.

Today our friendly driver will take you to discover the magnificent baroque sicilian towns of Noto,

Modica and Ragusa Ibla , as in 1693 the south-eastern part of the island was struck by a violent earthquake that killed 93000 people and completely destroyed 60 towns and villages.

The great reconstruction began the same year, when sicily was ruled by the spanish Viceroi. Some towns, were rebuilt where they existed as Catania and Siracuse,while others were entirely rebuilt on a new sites as Noto, Avola, Ragusa Ibla.


The city has two distinct areas, the lower and older town of Ragusa Ibla, and the higher Ragusa Superiore (Upper Town).

The two halves are separated by the Valle dei Ponti,

a deep ravine crossed by four bridges, the most noteworthy of which is the eighteenth-century Ponte dei Cappuccini.


Modica consists of two urban centres, “Modica Alta” (Upper Modica) and “Modica Bassa” (Lower Modica).

The older upper part is perched on the rocky top of the southern Ibeli hill, the lower part is built on the lower slopes and valley below.

The walk down from Modica Alta to Modica Bassa reveals vistas of the lower town and involves many steps; not many attempt the reverse journey on foot.

During the last century the city has extended and developed new suburbs which include Sacro Cuore (or “Sorda”), Monserrato, Idria, these are often referred to as Modern Modica;

both old and modern quarters of the city are today joined by one of Europe’s higher bridge, the Guerrieri bridge, 300 metres (980 ft) long.

Despite being ravaged by earthquakes in 1613 and 1693, and floods in 1833 and 1902,

Modica has retained some of the most beautiful architecture in Sicily.

Much of the city was rebuilt after the 1693 earthquake with imposing and conspicuous urban monuments in the Sicilian Baroque style.


Was designated Baroque capital by the council of europe.

Its wonderful buildings and elaborate facades in colored sandstone make it a real garden of stone.

It is 32 kilometres southwest of the city of Syracuse at the foot of the Iblean Mountains. It lends its name to the surrounding area Val di Noto.

In 2002 Noto and its church were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The baroque town of Modica

Ragusa Modica and Noto : estimated time 7/8 hours.